Candidates Sought for 17th District Judgeship

A nominating commission is seeking candidates to fill a vacancy in Colorado’s 17th Judicial District.

The 17th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet Jan. 31 at the Adams County Justice Center in Brighton to interview and select nominees for a district judgeship for the 17th Judicial District. The 17th Judicial District covers Adams and Broomfield counties.

The vacancy, which will occur on Feb. 13, will be created by Judge Ted C. Tow III’s recent appointment to the Colorado Court of Appeals, which Gov. John Hickenlooper announced Dec. 18.

To be eligible for the district judgeship, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the 17th Judicial District and must have been admitted to practice law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for the position is $163,308. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Brian D. Boatright, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, and the office of the district administrator, Benjamin Stough, 1100 Judicial Center Dr., Brighton, CO 80601. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at

The original, signed application and an identical copy stored as a PDF must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. on Jan. 12.  Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. on Jan. 5.

The members of the nominating commission for the 17th Judicial District are:

  • Margaret Burd of Thornton;
  • Daniel Carr, Jennifer Chavez, Joann Dawe, and Patricia Jarzobski of Westminster;
  • Christina Gomez of Commerce City;
  • and Linda Rodriguez of Broomfield.