Sixth Judicial District Announces La Plata County Court Vacancy

by Rebecca Voorhees

The 6th Judicial District announced that the office of county judge for La Plata County will be vacant due to the retirement of Judge Martha Minot. The nominating commission plans to meet on July 26th to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor.

Eligible applicants must be a qualified elector of La Plata County at the same time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado.

The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.

Applications can be picked up in person and are available on the court’s home page. The original, signed application and an identical copy stored as a PDF must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. on July 12th.

Any person wishing to suggest a candidate may submit a letter to any member of the nominating commission and the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. on July 5.

The members of the nominating commission for the 6th Judicial District are: Lisa Scott and James Ford of Pagosa Springs; Stephen Fearn of Silverton; John Baxter, Thomas Shipps and Bobby Duthie of Durango; and Kim Martin of Hesperus.