Applications Available For 20th District Judgeship

by Tony Flesor


The 20th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet June 29 at the Boulder County Combined Court to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the 20th District. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Judge D.D. Mallard. The vacancy will occur on July 31, 2015.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the 20th Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. As of July 1, 2015, the annual salary for this position will be $159,320.  The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Monica M. Márquez, 2 E. 14thAve., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the district administrator, Amy Waddle, Boulder County Combined Court, 1777 6th St., Boulder, CO 80302.  Applications also are available on the court’s home page at Careers/Judge.cfm

Applications must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. June 10.  Late applications will not be considered.  Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. June 3, 2015.

The members of the nominating commission for the 20th Judicial District are: Leslie Eaton and Karla Rikansrud of Boulder; Joel Champion of Longmont; Briggs Gamblin, Jodi Martin, and Josh Marks, all of Louisville; and Michael Beylkin of Erie.