Six Nominated for Denver County Judgeship

Mayor Michael Hancock received the following six nominees for a Denver County Court judgeship from the Denver County Court Judicial Nomination Commission: Arnie Beckman, Andrew Luxen, Isabel Pallares, Frances Simonet, Judith Smith and James Zobel.

The Mayor will interview the nominees and announce his selection of two judges on or before Aug. 25. The appointments will fill the vacancies created by the retirements of Judge John Marcucci and Judge Doris Burd.

The Judicial Nomination Commission is established by charter. It is composed of three attorneys and four non-attorneys, appointed by the Mayor, serving a term of four years. The presiding judge of the Denver County Court Theresa Spahn serves in an ex-officio advisory capacity. When a judicial vacancy is created, the commission announces the vacancy and the timeline in which to apply for nomination.

During the confidential process in which the JNC considers the candidates, the Commissioners apply rigorous and consistent standards for integrity, legal knowledge and ability, experience, temperament and diligence. The JNC carefully reviews the applications and selects candidates to interview. After the interviews and much deliberation, the JNC elects nominees for judicial vacancies for the Mayor’s consideration. Once the JNC has transmitted the names, the Mayor has 15 days in which to appoint the new County Court Judges.